My first swim at Lucky Lake

Ever heard of Lucky Lake? You will now. This is the time I swam across a lake and back.

IMAG0568 (1)

I remember all week telling myself “just breath”. It’s a beautiful lake that people have swam in time and time again. “You can do this!”. Then went I went to bed last night I remember telling myself okay, even if you can’t make it across the lake, trying is worth going. Because not going at all, is useless to me.

 IMAG0561

I have grown up in Florida and always swam in the oceans… with sharks. Why can’t I swim in a lake with gators? While making the drive over I drowned my thoughts out with loud music and singing as loud as I could with the windows down. IMAG0569

I made toast smothered in peanut butter ( I ended up eating it afterwards!), but was unable to eat due to massive stomach nerves. By the time I got there, I decided I should just wait till after the swim because I didn’t want to get sick (If I actually was to make it into the water).

 IMAG0575

I honestly don’t even remember being this worked up before my first marathon. I pulled in and Ben spotted me, while waiting for the rest of the group we decided we would make our way towards the lake.

After everyone arrived Kelly, Katy, Meaghann, Eric and it was time to make our way into the water…

Lucky lake girls

Here goes nothing..

I was off, but not without my awesome friends! Katy was awesome enough to be my swimming buddy. She is incredible. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

When I first took off I closed my eyes and felt okay. The water temp was great and the water was smooth. Then I opened my eyes… I quickly started to fill my gut with fear. Every bubble I felt, every time my head went into the water, I felt like I was bracing for something to drag me deep. At this point I am almost half way out, no turning back you can do this. Can I really? That’s when I lost my breath and rolled on my back and Katy talked me through it. Everything is fine and I am fine. She gave me great advice, count your strokes, it took the bad thoughts out of my mind.

Amber swimming

When we made it to the other side the others were waiting for us. We caught our breaths and the time came to make our way back across. I felt much more confident this time. Anytime I needed blue skies, I just rolled over and did the backstroke. ( It still counts.) Smile

  IMAG0574

When we finished, we decided for one more lap across.. So the ladies and I did a Half, treaded some water and then headed back. This was my chance to face the lake fear and open my eyes. 1. 2. 3. Open! It worked. Kind of. I feel like a few more times and I will feel more comfortable.

I have to say. I had the BEST support group and highly recommend friends if you are doing your first lake swim ( and have a fear of lakes). The power of a friend really showed today.

 IMAG0572

Once completed I got to go sign my name on the wall.. well ceiling Smile Only 99 more and I get to write my name in yellow!IMAG0566

I am so thrilled about my amazing accomplishment today and cannot wait to go back! Maybe next weekend? Look at all the cool goodies I got for finishing too! Winking smile

IMAG0576

About randomamber

Hi. I've been looking for something new in my life. To help me find "me". Lately I have been into a lot of reading and it has insirpired me to do some writing of my own. I have a new found love for running again and trying to eat right to be healthy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to My first swim at Lucky Lake

  1. That is AH-MAZING! Such a cool adventure!

  2. Wow, it looks terrifying! Well done you! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Confessions Part 3

Leave a Reply

