Test Ride

I was determined to get out on the bike today. First thing is first though. I needed to get some gear.

  • Shoes
  • Clips
  • Gloves
  • Water pack!

I have been searching online and asking around. WHERE DO I GO? After a week of rain, and lots of engine searching it came to an end today. I found the store I have been looking. Say hello to Orange Cycle. I headed over to Kyle’s cycle shop a couple days ago, and he said to check them out. So I did.

They. Know. Their. Stuff. I  had great help from a lovely lady named Mel. ( Who has done a tri.) and had the pleasure of giving me great tips. When I first came in, I was a little overwhelmed at how much stuff they had.

 P4020829

I was like a little kid in a candy store, minus the sugar buzz. Smile I was on a cycle buzz! First thing was first. SHOES! I did a little looking around, noticed they had everything I was looking for. Now it was time to size up. Then Mel showed up. She helped with my size. I picked out a black and pink pair I had been looking at online. P4020830

Check.

She was kind enough to help me with the clips, :/ I would have been lost without her. Clips? What are clips? (Clips are the little piece that is placed into the bottom of your shoe so that your foot can slip into the petal of your bike.) <—Good to know!P4020842

We wondered over to the clip section, and in no time at all she put them in and we were on to look at gloves

P4020833

Pink? Don’t mind if I do.

Now I was debating about a Camelbak water backpack. I have been wanting/needing one for a while. I have a Camelbak water bottle (that I love) and use all the time for exercising, yoga and running short distance. I ❤ water and drink a lot of it. P4020841

Mel had lead me in all the right directions so far. So I was interested in her advice toward the water back packs. She actually suggested the Osprey. P4020834

It has a magnet that holds your mouth piece in place (you have my attention). It also has storage and pocket in an easy reach pocket for a quick snack. On the back there is a place to hook your helmet when your not riding.

 P4020835P4020840

I checked out and headed home to try my new gear out! I rinsed out the pack, slid on the shoes, grabbed a road snack.

 P4020838

I buckled my helmet and headed out the door! P4020845

THANK YOU Orange Cycle!

The First bike ride was a success!! I did not fall, which I really was expecting, I took it easy. Set out for no distance, just to test it out and see how it felt. It. Felt. Great. I did a nice and easy 8miles. My butt is still getting used to it. I took the first 10mintues figuring out how to slip my feet in and out of the slots. Once I had got that down, I was on my way!

I am hoping for a long easy ride tomorrow. Any takers? Oh, Did I mention I am going to do a Tri this summer? I must give details! Maybe tomorrow… Winking smile

Time to shower! I have a date with Kelly, David and Anthony!

About randomamber

Hi. I've been looking for something new in my life. To help me find "me". Lately I have been into a lot of reading and it has insirpired me to do some writing of my own. I have a new found love for running again and trying to eat right to be healthy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

