Pushing Limits To The Max!

What limits you may ask? I know I have been MIA, but I have a great excuse been super busy! Are you ready for it? I have been cycling it up! I have also been WAY out of my comfort zone.

 IMAG0876

Comfort zone:  a behavioral state within which a person operates in an anxiety-neutral condition, using a limited set of behaviors to deliver a steady level of performance, usually without a sense of risk –>To step out of the comfort zone raises the anxiety level engendering a stress response, the result of which is an enhanced level of concentration and focus.

(Source)

I cannot believe the love I have developed for cycling. I have always found myself veered towards running. Once I decided I was going to do my first triathlon I realized, oh I need to buy a bike. After my big purchase; I started learning how to ride and truly enjoyed it. I started with small rides. Like 5-7miles around my neighborhood and didn’t ride far from home. Then the training kicked it for the triathlon and before I knew I had done my first 14miles! Then the PDR’s kept rolling in. Slowly but surely I had grown from 7miles to 20miles to 25miles to 30miles to 37ish (my Garmin died Sad smile) all the way to 41miles.IMAG0865

I have been gaining new mileage every week! Trying new trails and even driving many miles to get to bigger trails. This has all been done with amazing friends and I couldn’t have done it without them!

Girls

Besides, it is worth it just for the views alone!

IMAG0863IMAG0871

Starting with Kelly and Rachel with our amazing 15mile rides while we talk about anything and everything. Who needs Happy Hour when you have Happy Cycle Hour Winking smile You really get to know someone when you cycle with someone. P6222109

Then I accomplished new mileage with Kelly and my new found friend Danielle! <- Who I met through Kelly! Danielle lives near me, so it is very exciting knowing I have someone to run, bike, swim.. or even enjoy a movie night out! Winking smile Yay for Harry Potter friends! ANYWAYS.. Back to it.

IMAG0884

Last weekend I found out something new about Florida.. It has hills???? Who knew?? Not me.I thought the guys were joking.. Meet Jason(right) & Chis(Left) <- Best coach/friend/cyclist I have ever met. I was pushed to all new limits and pulled (no, literally pulled by my water pack) up some of the toughest hills I had ever come across. Without the help of these guys I would have been a lone ranger and probably turned around and gone home! Not to mention he changed my flat tire in record time!IMAG0866

Guess what sits at the top of this mountain hill??? A water station.

IMAG0868IMAG0869

But Sugar Loaf mountain hill exists! I should know I went up the back of it. IMAG0870

I am so proud of the new friends that made it up that hill without getting off their bike. I on the hand have reason to come back and show that mountain hill who’s boss.. I didn’t make it up that hill without getting off. Don’t worry, it will not get me down! I am going back to take it on!

IMAG0867

Some new things I learned:

  • Always carry a bike kit! <- Flat tire at mile 1!
  • Always carry a first aid kit <- Fell at mile 30ish.. (first time! I am now I true cyclist.)
  • Know what your gears are and how to use them. <- Major Thanks to Jason!
  • Cycle groups not only look fun, but are!
  • Fuel, Fuel and more Fuel + Water, Water and more Water! <- Love my water pack!
  • How to put a bike rack on.
  • Mix 1? Yes please! <- Refueling never tasted so good Smile

With all the great flavors Mix1 has to offer I didn’t know which one to try first when Courtney offered after the long ride. I picked Peach! It was AMAZING! So next up, was chocolate; which Danielle offered after our 41miler! I am a newbie to this amazing drink. But don’t I look like a picture perfect of a billboard <—advertising for Mix1?? Just an idea.. Winking smile

IMAG0878IMAG0885IMAG0886

Do you ever push you limits? Comfort zone, what comfort zone? How do you fuel, refuel? I am still learning!

About randomamber

Hi. I've been looking for something new in my life. To help me find "me". Lately I have been into a lot of reading and it has insirpired me to do some writing of my own. I have a new found love for running again and trying to eat right to be healthy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Pushing Limits To The Max!

  1. Congratulations on all of the progress you’re making with cycling! I absolutely love cycling (thanks to my husband who has always been a bike geek & introduced me to it) and I love seeing people getting more comfortable with it too! It’s definitely a great workout & such a wonderful social activity!

    I’m all over the place with fuel/refuel – for running I use a mix of Gu Chomps & gel with water & gatorade for hydration. On the bike I try to use “real” food as much as possible – whether it’s granola bars, beef jerky, apples or trail mix – and again water/gatorade for hydration. It’s refueling after a workout that trips me up – I haven’t ever used any recovery/protein drinks and I know I probably should!

  2. Grace says:

    I feel like I am always pushing my comfort zone with running because I have never been athletic so really any exercise like things are pushing my comfort zone because most are still new-ish to me! It’s awesome that you have found a new love in cycling!

  3. Danielle says:

    Yay, you posted! Great rides lately, huh? Ahh, that cold water at the top of that hill was a savior! I love that group pic.
    PS- I finally learned how to link. Whoop whoop!

  4. Cheryl says:

    So very proud of you! It was great to see you Saturday night in Daytona. Please come by and see us anytime you’re in town. We’re always here for you.

Leave a Reply

