I accomplished a Triathlon

227219

That’s right me. I have to be honest. In all my wildest dreams I didn’t see this one coming. I cannot shake this feeling of awesomeness! After setting out to complete this goal, it feels good knowing that all that training paid off. It wasn’t just about that day of doing a triathlon, it was about all the days I woke up and didn’t ‘feel’ like working out and did it anyway. That is part of why finishing this feels so awesome. 168

My day started early at 5am with an english muffin smothered in peanut butter. Smile Since my bags were already packed and ready to go, we headed out! Almost forgetting my cycling shorts.. oh my! Once we got there it was time to get set up! Being a first timer, I was quickly looking around to figure out how the heck I was to set my stuff up. You could put your bike anywhere, so I snag a spot next to my friends Rachel and Eric in the front row. Sweet!

171

With five minutes to spare we headed to the restrooms and down to the lake for part I: The swim! I was getting nervous at this point because the swim is after all, where I get nervous. Not because I can’t swim, but because I honestly freak at the thought of swimming in a lake.

172173

But today was going to be different I decided I was going to take that lake head on and punch,kick and swim right through that fear. Which is what I did, except at one point I did kick/touch something I was unsure what it was and it turned out it was a guy on a noodle. I did a quick flip onto my back and figured out what just happened and wished him luck. Onward I went. As I came around the second buoy I knew I was in the home stretch and gave it everything I had. “Get out of the way!” where the words I was screaming in my head and like that it was over! I dashed out and started running <- Which was harder than I thought it would be, but I did it anyway.

179180

Part II: The Bike! I got to the transition area and quickly dipped/dried/and put my socks and shoes on. Threw my helmet on, grabbed my bike and rolled out!

185188

As I was scurrying out of T1 I dropped my bike, water bottle fell out and almost lost a glove. Not my best moment, but none the less I did my best to get it together and start strong. On the other hand one of my best ideas was a small towel I brought with me at the last minute, which was quite helpful for wiping the sweat of my face along the ride.

191193

The ride by the way was beautiful and peaceful. there was amazing volunteers steering me in the right direction. A huge THANK YOU goes out to the people who make it possible for athletes to do this!

195

I remember not thinking about anything when I headed out, except for keeping my pace above 15. So for the first 3-4miles I struggle with this concept.197

Then I realized, Duh Amber switch gears! It took just that and I quickly did one click and 17mph pace kept me strong the rest of the race. I was no longer being pasted and was now passing others! Always with smiles and words of encouragement!

199200

Now it was time for part III: The Run! As I entered into T2 I remember thinking. Okay, Amber this it. <- Yes, I talk to myself. What else am I suppose to do with no music? I dropped off the bike, threw off the helmet and switched shoes. Whew! Took off without a second thought.

206209

You want to know my second thought? Well here it is. My legs were jello and my feet were bricks. Now it was time for positive chat with myself. as I enter into the woods I realized it was just me, trees and a few runners in front or me and behind me. I sang under my breathe, I sang out loud, and cheered for others runners as they cheered for me. It was an awesome feeling and very encouraging as we made our way through the forest, I even remember the smell of bacon from a campsite I passed along the way. 211212

Then! There it was the finish line was in sight! Bring. It. Home! Look at that. I think I see a smile on my face!! I did it! Really did it!

214215

One of the best parts of the day was getting to share it with some of my favorite people! My family. This is the first race my dad has been able to make it too since my first swim meet back in ‘03! Can you tell he was proud? I also got to share this moment with my stepma -Linda! Parents couldn’t have been prouder!

222

Not only did I finish, but I also took 3rd place!!! GO me!!! Next year, I am going to have to work really hard to get that first place! That’s right I said next year, look out everyone there is a new triathlete in this town! And she’s not backing down!

IMAG0731

Almost forgot! This was not only my first triathlon, but David’s first time being at one too! He was so proud and exhausted. I thought I was tired, but I guess all the supporting and cheering wore him out!

IMG00085-20110709-0901IMAG0729

I would keep going on and on, but I think you get just how awesome this day was and how much it meant to me and the family!

What was one of your biggest accomplishments? Would you do it again? Wanting to become better at it or satisfied that you finished?

About randomamber

Hi. I've been looking for something new in my life. To help me find "me". Lately I have been into a lot of reading and it has insirpired me to do some writing of my own. I have a new found love for running again and trying to eat right to be healthy!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to I accomplished a Triathlon

  1. Rachel says:

    You did great, Amber! It was so much fun being there with you. Now we get to start training for the Ride 4 Ronald metric century and the Daytona Beach Half Marathon. No rest for the wicked!

    • randomamber says:

      HAHA I love it!!! I am so glad I had you there with me!! It was just like swimming with friends! :) Cant wait for this epic bike ride with you!! And the training begins again! A new journey is under way. !!!!

  2. cinthya m. says:

    Awesome job!! I’m so proud to know you! You inspire me girl! Keep on truckin’. You should be VERY proud of yourself!!

  3. Cindy says:

    That is SO cool and I’m super proud of you! I’m also glad your Dad, Linda, and David were there to see it! Big kudos, Sweetie!

  4. Kelly says:

    Congrats Amber on finishing your first tri!!!! SO proud of you!! You rocked it! Wish I could have been there to cheer you on. Love all of the pics!

  5. goconfidentlyx says:

    So, this is really random, but I’ve read your blog some and I just so happened to be at that triathlon; my transition area was next to yours and I can see myself in one of your pictures, haha. Regardless, awesome job with your first triathlon and I’m glad that you’re addicted now – I am too!

  6. Grace says:

    That is so awesome! Congrats! I promised myself I’d do one this year and still haven’t signed up=/ I need to get on that! Thanks for being my inspiration!

  7. missposy says:

    Awesome work! I completed my first triathlon (a small one!) late last year – it’s such an awesome feeling, finishing, isn’t it?! And to come third! Superstar!

  8. Katy Widrick says:

    I am so proud of you — now you’re hooked!

  9. Danielle says:

    Hi Amber!

    I’m thinking about signing up for a moss park sprint tri at the end of august, so reading your recap was very helpful. Can’t wait to be a traithlete as well! Congrats on your first tri.

  10. Courtney says:

    Epic sports is very first time triathlete friendly :-) And you can keep enjoying their tris after your 3rd or 30th time too. Glad you enjoyed yourself. Way to rock getting 3rd in the AG. A little note – saw in one of the pictures, you took off your helmet before your racked your bike. Make sure to always put your helmet on before you unrack your bike and take your helmet off after you rack your bike. Epic doesn’t usually disqualify but other races do. I’m not being a “rule” police….I would just hate to see you get disqualified/penalized after sooooo much hard work. Can’t wait to read about more races!

  11. Pingback: Pushing Limits To The Max! | RandomAmber

Leave a Reply

